## 9.—Provinces and Territories of Canada, with present Areas, Dates of Admission to Confederation and Legislative Process by which this was effected.

Province, Territory or District.	Date of Admission or Creation.	Legislative Process.	Present Area (square miles).		
			Land,	Water.	Total.
Ontario Quebec Nova Scotia New Brunswick Manitoba	July 1, 1867 " 1, 1867 " 1, 1867 " 1, 1867 " 15, 1870	British North America Act, 1867 (30-31 Vict., c. 3), and Imperial Order in Council of May 22, 1867.	357, 962 571, 004 20, 743 27, 710	49,300 23,430 685 275	407,262 <sup>1</sup> 594,434 <sup>2</sup> 21,428 27,985
British Columbia P. E. Island Saskatchewan	" 20, 1871 " 1, 1873 Sept. 1, 1905	1870	224,777 349,970 2,184	27,055 5,885	251,8323 355,855 2,184
Alberta Yukon	" 1, 1905 June 13, 1898		237,975 248,80) 205,346	13,725 6,485 1,730	251,700 4 255,285 4 207,076
Mackenzie Keewatin Franklin	Jan. 1, 1920 " 1, 1920 " 1, 1920	Order in Council, Mar. 16, 1918	493,225 218,460 546,532	34,265 9,700 7,500	527,490 5 228,160 5 554,0325
Total			3,504,688	180,035	3,684,723

¹ The area of Ontario was extended by the Canada (Ontario Boundary) Act, 1889, and the Ontario Boundaries Extension Act, 1912 (2 Geo. V, c. 40).

² Extended by Order in Council of July 6, 1896 (confirmed by c. 3, Acts of 1898), and Quebec Boundaries Extension Act, 1912 (2 Geo. V, c. 45), and diminished in consequence of the award of the Judicial Committee of the British Privy Council (Mar. 1, 1927), whereby some 112,400 square miles of territory, formerly considered as part of Quebec, were transferred to the Government of Newfoundland.

³ Extended by Extension of Boundaries of Manitoba Act, 1881, and Manitoba Boundaries Extension Act, 1912 (2 Geo. V, c. 32).

⁴ Alberta and Saskatchewan now cover approximately the area formerly comprised in the districts of Assiniboia, Athabaska, Alberta and Saskatchewan, established May 17, 1882, by minute of Canadian P.C., concurred in by Dominion Parliament and Order in Council of Oct. 2, 1895.

⁵ By an Order in Council of June 23, 1870, Rupert's Land, acquired under the Rupert's Land Acts of 1867 and 1868, and the undefined Northern Territories were admitted into the Confederation. The original Northwest Territories, mentioned in the Manitoba Act, 1870, were established by the Northwest Territories Act, 1880 (43 Vict., c. 25), the district of Keewatin having been previously defined by an Act of the Dominion Parliament (39 Vict., c. 21). The provisional districts of Yukon, Mackenzie, Franklin and Ungava were defined in an Order in Council of July 24, 1905, the area of Keewatin, not included in the Northwest Territories, was annexed to the latter from Sept. 1, 1905. By the Extension of Boundaries Act, 1912, Ungava was made a part of the province of Quebec, and the remaining area of the Northwest Act, 1912, Ungava was made a part of the province of Quebec, and the remaining area of the Northwest Territories south of 60° N. latitude was divided between Manitoba and Ontario.

In each of the provinces the King is represented by a Lieutenant-Governor appointed by the Governor-General in Council, and governing with the advice and assistance of his Ministry or Executive Council, which is responsible to the Legislature and resigns office when it ceases to enjoy the confidence of that body. Legislatures of all the provinces with the exception of Quebec are now unicameral, consisting of a Legislative Assembly elected by the people. In Quebec there is a Legislative Council as well as a Legislative Assembly. For detailed description of the Provincial Governments, the reader is referred to pp. 101-115 of the 1922-23 edition of the Year Book.

The Lieutenant-Governors of the provinces, together with the names of the Ministers of the present Administrations, are given in Table 10. Details regarding Provincial Legislatures and Ministries since Confederation were given on pp. 75-84 of the 1924 Year Book.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> The Legislative Council of Nova Scotia ceased to exist in 1928. 94562-- 61